Why need cloud?

Hello Everyone.

I am new to IoT and going through the training course. I have a very fundamental question regarding IoT. If the device/sensor is stable (in my case it would be factory facility with machines hardwired to my data center for historian data collection through SCADA) would it make sense to use cloud services to carry out the analytics? For a product like car which is mobile it make sense to upload the data to cloud and perform the analytics.
Would it be cost effective and more reliable to carry out machine learning and preventive maintenance or any other analytics application on local servers rather than on cloud and then publish the finding on cloud for other users to view.

I thank everyone for their time.

HI Shailendra346, great question.